Regulation of Hours and Annual Holidays.—Five provinces—Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia—have statutes that either place absolute limits on working hours or require time and one-half the regular rate to be paid if work is continued after specified limits. There is, in addition, an Act of limited application in Quebec. In the provinces that have no special hours-of-work legislation, the only statutory regulation of hours, apart from that described on p. 752 under the Industrial Standards Acts and the Quebec Collective Agreement Act, is that imposed by factories Acts, mines Acts and, in Newfoundland, an Act governing shops. In New Brunswick and Quebec the limits imposed by the factories Acts apply only to women and boys under 18 years of age. Several minimum wage Acts give authority for the regulation of hours as well as of wages.

In Ontario there is a maximum eight-hour day and 48-hour week with certain exceptions In Alberta the maximum daily and weekly hours in the cities of Calgary, Edmonton, Lethbridge and Medicine Hat are eight and 44; in the remainder of the Province they are eight and 48. In British Columbia hours are limited to eight in a day and 44 in a week. In these three provinces the Acts apply to most workers except farm labourers and domestic servants. In Saskatchewan the Act requires time and one-half to be paid for work after eight hours daily and 44 hours weekly and applies to workers in all industries except agriculture and domestic service. A Manitoba Act covering most industrial workers in the Province requires time and one-half to be paid for work done after eight hours in a day and after 48 hours in a week for men and 44 hours for women. In all provinces that have Acts regulating hours, longer hours may be worked in an emergency or by permission of the administrative authority.

Six provinces—Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia—have legislation in effect providing for annual holidays with pay for workers in most industries, and New Brunswick has legislation requiring annual holidays in the mining and construction industries. In all these provinces except British Columbia and Saskatchewan, workers are entitled to a one-week holiday with pay after a year of employment. A two-week holiday is given in British Columbia and Saskatchewan after a year of employment, in Alberta after two years and in Manitoba after three. A worker employed for less than a year is entitled, in Quebec, to a half-day for each month of employment and, in Saskatchewan, to one day for each month. Coal miners in Alberta are entitled to a one-day holiday with pay for every 20 days worked in a month but not more than two weeks in a year.

Farm workers are excluded from the holiday provisions in all provinces, and domestic servants in all but Manitoba and Saskatchewan. In addition, Quebec exempts forest operations workers, public corporation employees, salesmen, janitors and watchmen, and certain part-time workers. Ontario exempts professional workers, salesmen, and funeral directors and embalmers. Manitoba and Saskatchewan exempt ranch and market garden employees, and British Columbia exempts professional workers and horticultural workers.

Minimum Wage Regulations.—In Nova Scotia the minimum wage law applies only to women. In Ontario, though the Act applies to both sexes, Orders apply only to women. In Newfoundland, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Alberta and British Columbia there are separate Orders for men and women but in British Columbia most Orders cover both sexes. In Quebec and Saskatchewan all Orders apply to both sexes.

Table 1 shows the minimum rates in effect in September 1957 for several classes of establishment in the principal cities. In Newfoundland, New Brunswick, British Columbia and, with respect to men in Manitoba, the rates set are for the entire Province. Elsewhere rates vary according to zone.